Lions Celebrate Success

ambrose lions athletics

April 2nd was another special night of celebration and community for the Lions Athletics Department, as we hosted our annual Awards Gala. The night was filled with fine dining, laughter, inspiration and remembrance of each athlete's hard work and growth and of the friendships that were made over the past season. The evening was also an opportunity to celebrate the vision statement of the Athletics Department: “Pursuing Excellence. Building Family. Becoming Disciples.” Athletes, coaches, parents, chaplains and sponsors came together to enjoy this great evening.

Our most prestigious award is named after Mel Sylvester and is given out anually to the top male and female leaders in the Lion’s Pride, so we were thrilled to have Mel as our guest speaker and to hear his address on the value of being coachable. Athletic Leadership Team members Alex Saayman and Madyson Kerr did a great job as MCs, and the insights shared by senior speakers Brooklyn Dyck, Rachel Martens and Israel Reyes were another highlight; each year, Lions who are graduating and have been role models over their 4-5 year careers have the opportunity to share their wisdom with the next generation of players. This year, we also honoured Paul Barnett for his 10+ years of service to Ambrose Athletics. As an athlete and a coach, Paul has poured into our program and it was fitting to give tribute to him.

And, of course, we handed out many awards. Here's a list of all of the well-deserving Lions who received recognition:

Ambrose Lions Team Awards


Most Valuable Player

Julia Kemper

Most Inspirational Player

Ashley Heigold

Most Improved Player

Shaelyn Mendes


Most Valuable Player

Keaton Strom

Most Inspirational Player

Logan Sept

Most Improved Player

Jared VanderZwaag


Most Valuable Player

Janelle Perry

Most Inspirational Player

Madison Kehler

Most Improved Player

Teagan Willems


Most Valuable Player

Lucas Reimer

Most Inspirational Player

Adam Keizer

Most Improved Player

Alexander Shemetov


Most Valuable Player

Catherine Montes

Most Inspirational Player

Lindsay Nicholas

Most Improved Player

Paige Goertzen


Most Valuable Player

Kyler Shula

Most Inspirational Player

Israel Reyes

Most Improved

Player Josh Daniel


ACAC Awards

ACAC Academic Awards from 2015-16 Season (based upon 3.5 or higher GPA)

Not in attendance:

Katheryn Mercer, Ashtyn McKenzie, Rochelle Edwards, Marielle Saayman, Sarah Hawley, Stephen Boughton, Connor Chau

 In attendance:

River Flewell, Karina Richichi, Julia Kemper, Brooklyn Dyck, Katie Nutini, Nolan Ens, Dylan Squires, Logan Sept, Adam Koning

Minor Officials of the Year

Sebastian Dykstra (Statistician for Games)
Nick Kennedy (GameDay Announcer)
Brent Ingram (Volleyball Play by Play Webcast Announcer)

All Conference Winners

Kyler Shula (2nd Team Basketball)
Bethany Herman (ACAC Futsal Championships All Star)
Julia Kemper (1st Team Volleyball)

Ambrose Lions Major Awards

Graduate Award

Alexander Saayman – BSc in Biology
Israel Reyes – BSc in Biology
Kyler Shula –BA in General Studies
Michelle Holmes – BA in General Studies
Rachel Martens – BA in Behavioral Science
Nolan Ens – BA in History
Jordan Tjart – BMin in Church Ministry
Curtis Dyck – BMin in Youth Ministry
Brooklyn Dyck – BA in Business Administration

4th/5th Year Lion Award (A Graduating Athlete who played 4 or 5 years)

Curtis Dyck – 5 Year Lion. Volleyball
Israel Reyes. 5 Year Lion. Basketball
Jordan Tjart – 4 Year Lion. Volleyball
Michelle  Holmes – 5 Year Lion. Futsal     
Rachel Martens - 4 Year Lion. Futsal
Nolan Ens – 4 Year Lion. Volleyball

Athletes of the Year

Ambrose Lions Female Athlete of the Year 2016-17

Julia Kemper

Ambrose Lions Male Athlete of the Year 2016-17

Kyler Shula

Mel Sylvester Athletic Leadership Awards

Ambrose Lions Female Mel Sylvester Leadership Award 2016- 17

Brooklyn Dyck

Ambrose Lions Male Mel Sylvester Leadership Award 2016-17

Nolan Ens

Special Thanks to all of our amazing team chaplains as well.