You are here

Leadership & Governance


Gordon T. Smith is President and Professor of Systematic and Spiritual Theology at Ambrose University.  He has served in this capacity since 2012.    Additionally, he is an ordained minister with The Christian and Missionary Alliance.  

He is the author of a number of publications, including:

Welcome Holy Spirit:  A Theological and Experiential Introdution (IVPress, 2021)

Wisdom from Babylon:  Leadership for the Church in a Secular Age (IVPress, 2020).

Evangelical, Sacramental and Pentecostal:  Why The Church Needs to be all Three (IVPress, 2017.

Institutional Intelligence:  The Elements of an Effective Organization (IVP, 2017)

Gordon is married to Joella and together they have two grown sons.


Provost & Vice President Academic

Pam Nordstrom

Associate Vice President Student Life

Monique Verhoef


Vice President Finance & Administration

Brett Huffey

Management Consultant

Stephanie MacTavish


Debi Mills (Chair)
Businessperson, Stony Plain, AB

Rev. David Hearn
President, The Christian and Missionary Alliance (C&MA) Canada

Calvin Buss (Vice Chair)
Businessperson, Vancouver, BC

Lawrence Stalder 
Businessperson, Calgary, AB

Larry Koop (Secretary)
Businessperson, Olds, AB

Teresa Davidson
Healthcare Executive, Calgary AB

Rev. Ian Fitzpatrick
National Director, Church of the Nazarene in Canada, Toronto, ON

Rev. Genghis Chan
Assistant District Superintendent (Chinese & Vietnamese Churches), Pacific District of The Alliance

Krista Friesen
Businesswoman, Calgary AB

Rev. Scott Dickie
Lead Pastor, Peace Portal Alliance Church, Surrey BC

Kari Leoganda
Businesswoman, Vancouver BC

Dale Meister
Businessperson, Calgary, AB

Ilse Li
Lay Leader, Edmonton Chinese Alliance Church, AB

Srimal Ranasinghe
Urban Planning Consultant, Calgary AB

Wayne Regehr
Executive Pastor, Sherwood Park Alliance Church, AB


The composition of the Ambrose Board of Governors is defined in the Ambrose bylaws:

  • The president of The Christian and Missionary Alliance in Canada (ex officio)
  • The national director of the Church of the Nazarene Canada (ex officio)
  • One member appointed by the National Board of the Church of the Nazarene Canada
  • Six members appointed by the Board of Directors of The Christian and Missionary Alliance in Canada
  • One Christian and Missionary Alliance District Superintendent
  • Up to five members-at-large appointed by the Board

Governors are typically appointed to a four-year term and may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms.

Contact the Board