Education (After Degree)

Overview

Ambrose University Undergraduate Viewbook

Every visionary, business person, community and faith leader, artist and athlete shares one thing in common: a teacher who helped inspire them to do great things. You can be that guiding light with a teaching degree from Ambrose University.

Build on your undergraduate degree and prepare to support the individual learning needs of students from diverse communties. Design learning experiences that grow students' strengths and use technology to elevate learning. You put theory into action through practicums at schools in and around Calgary. At every step, benefit from close contact with a mentor eager to share practical knowledge. This Ambrose BEd focuses on preparing elementary teachers, but you graduate certified to teach any age level in the province of Alberta.

Get certified to teach in Alberta with this two-year Bachelor of Education degree program.

Visit the Education Department 

Your Future

This is your career

Upon successful completion of the program, graduates meet the requirements for Interim Professional Certification in the Province of Alberta - both in public or independent schools.

For more information on Teacher Certification, click here.

With this teaching degree, graduates will be certified to teach in Alberta and will be eligible for certification in other provinces, as well as in countries other than Canada.

This is where you can go

Teach in a variety of education settings:

  • Public schools
  • First Nations communities
  • Inclusive and multicultural classrooms
  • Developing countries

95%

of students get teaching jobs upon graduation

Beyond the Classroom

A major component of any education degree program is classroom practicum. Ambrose partners with Calgary and area school districts to place you in classrooms so you can start applying your learning and developing your teaching skills from as early as your second semester. You’ll spend your third semester almost entirely in the classroom, and, in your final semester, you’ll have the chance to review and analyze what you learned through that experience.

Staff and Faculty

Name Position Location Email Phone
sherry martens ambrose dean of education Sherry Martens, PhD, MA, BEd Associate Dean of Education
Assistant Professor of Education
RE 134 sherry.martens@ambrose.edu -
Professor of Practical Theology, Arch Wong Arch Wong, PhD, DMin, STM, MDiv, BA (Honours) Professor of Practical Theology
Associate Director, Flourishing Congregations Institute
L2081 awong@ambrose.edu -
Kathy Crawford Education Field Experience Coordinator and Lecturer Kathryn Crawford, EdD (Cand.), MEd, BEd Assistant Professor of Education RE 148 kcrawford@ambrose.edu -
Josh Hill, PhD (Cand.), MEd, BEd, BA Lecturer - josh.hill@ambrose.edu -
Craig Harding Sessional Instructor Ambrose Education Craig Harding, PhD Sessional Faculty - Education - jcharding@shaw.ca -
Christy Thomas, PhD Sessional - Education - christy.thomas@ambrose.edu -
Heather Provencher Director of Field Experience Heather Provencher, BEd, BMus, MOrff-Music, MEd Director of Field Experience - heather.provencher@ambrose.edu -
Jeff Hall Ambrose Sessional Instructor Jeff Hall Sessional Instructor
University Consultant
- jeff.hall@ambrose.edu -
Marlene Nelson, MA, BEd Sessional - Education - marlene.nelson@ambrose.edu -
Crystal Pelletier, BEd, MEd Sessional - Education - crystal.pelletier@ambrose.edu -
John Picard Ambrose Education Sessional Faculty John Picard, BA, MEd Sessional Faculty - Education - picard.consult@gmail.com -
Sharon Snell, BEd, Bsc Sessional - Education - -