Leadership Certificate

Overview

Earn your Leadership Certification for Alberta’s New Professional Standards

Take your personal leadership journey and realize your passion for education.

Comprising two noncredit courses, the Certificate program is your opportunity to get informed, get real about yourself, get going as a school leader — and get the accreditation required to become a Principal in Alberta. The cost per course is $650.

Advance your knowledge and skills to make a positive difference in the lives of students. Forge personal and professional connections that will enrich your personal and professional life. Benefit from Ambrose University’s expertise in preparing passionate educators through a program intentionally designed to give you:

  • the flexibility to choose how and when to complete the program’s two courses, in the way that works best for you
  • courses that can be completed simultaneously or in sequence
  • blended face-to-face and online delivery methods

Inspire. Mentor. Coach. Follow your path to leadership...

Sherry Martens, PhD, MA, BEd

Associate Dean of Education
Associate Professor of Education

John Picard, BA, MEd

Sessional Faculty of Education

Christy Thomas, EdD, MEd, BEd

Assistant Professor of Education

ELQS 001 & ELQS 002 

ELQS 001 BECOMING A TRANSFORMATIVE LEADER

Begin to develop your personal vision of leadership through guided inquiry, case studies and journalling. Reflect and question your personal beliefs about leadership through a focus on research and best practices about transformative leadership, interwoven with personal reflection and narrative.

Fall 2020

September 19 - December 5, 2020
Synchronous/Zoom first class Saturday, September 19, 2020 - online December 5, 2020.

Spring 2021

April 17 - May 21, 2021 (Online)
Synchronous Introduction April 17, 2021 9:00-10:30

Fall 2021

September 18 - December 3, 2021
Online

 

ELQS 002 BEING A TRANSFORMATIVE PRINCIPAL

Consolidate theory, your personal beliefs and contextual knowledge by focusing on instructional leadership, managing school operations, vision building and fostering effective relationships for a flourishing school culture. You will curate a personal leadership portfolio that showcases your ongoing grown as a leader.

Winter 2021

Jan 16 - Apr 17, 2021
Fully online with opportunities to connect synchronously (on campus April 17)

Spring 2021

May 24 - June 26, 2021
Online classes - Monday, May 24 - June 26, 2021

Winter 2022

January 21 - April 1, 2022
Online

Get more information here Register Today

Staff and Faculty

Name Position Location Email Phone
sherry martens ambrose dean of education Sherry Martens, PhD Associate Dean of Education
Assistant Professor of Education
RE 134 sherry.martens@ambrose.edu -
Professor of Practical Theology, Arch Wong Arch Wong, PhD Professor of Practical Theology
Cross-Appointment, School of Education
Associate Director, Flourishing Congregations Institute
- awong@ambrose.edu -
Kathy Crawford Education Field Experience Coordinator and Lecturer Kathryn Crawford, EdD Assistant Professor in Education RE 148 kcrawford@ambrose.edu -
Joshua Hill, PhD Assistant Professor in Education RE136 joshua.hill@ambrose.edu -
Christy Thomas, EdD Assistant Professor in Education RE148 christy.thomas@ambrose.edu -
Craig Harding Sessional Instructor Ambrose Education Craig Harding, PhD Sessional - Education - jcharding@shaw.ca -
Crystal Pelletier, BEd, MEd Director of Field RE127 crystal.pelletier@ambrose.edu -
John Picard Ambrose Education Sessional Faculty John Picard, BA, MEd Sessional - Education - picard.consult@gmail.com -
Brian Boese, EdD, MEd, BEd, BPE Sessional - Education - brian.boese@ambrose.edu -
Tammy Dikeman, MALA, BEd Sessional - Education - tammy.dikeman@ambrose.edu -
Mary-Lynn Wardle, MA, BEd, BA Sessional - Education - mary-lynn.wardle@ambrose.edu -
Allison Robb-Hagg Sessional - Education - allison.robb-hagg@ambrose.edu -
Nadia Verna, MA, BEd Sessional - Education - nadia.verna@ambrose.edu -