Leadership Certificate

Overview

Earn your Leadership Certification for Alberta’s New Professional Standards

Take your personal leadership journey and realize your passion for education.

Comprising two noncredit courses, the Certificate program is your opportunity to get informed, get real about yourself, get going as a school leader — and get the accreditation required to become a Principal in Alberta. The cost per course is $650.

Advance your knowledge and skills to make a positive difference in the lives of students. Forge personal and professional connections that will enrich your personal and professional life. Benefit from Ambrose University’s expertise in preparing passionate educators through a program intentionally designed to give you:

  • the flexibility to choose how and when to complete the program’s two courses, in the way that works best for you
  • courses that can be completed simultaneously or in sequence
  • blended face-to-face and online delivery methods

Inspire. Mentor. Coach. Follow your path to leadership...

Sherry Martens, PhD, MA, BEd

Associate Dean of Education
Associate Professor of Education

John Picard, BA, MEd

Sessional Faculty, Education

ELQS 001 & ELQS 002 

ELQS 001 BECOMING A TRANSFORMATIVE LEADER

Begin to develop your personal vision of leadership through guided inquiry, case studies and journalling. Reflect and question your personal beliefs about leadership through a focus on research and best practices about transformative leadership, interwoven with personal reflection and narrative.

Fall 2020

September 19 - December 5, 2020
Synchronous/Zoom first class Saturday, September 19, 2020 - online December 5, 2020.

Spring 2021

April 17 - May 21, 2021
Synchronous/Zoom first class Saturday, April 17, 2021 - online May 21, 2021

ELQS 002 BEING A TRANSFORMATIVE PRINCIPAL

Consolidate theory, your personal beliefs and contextual knowledge by focusing on instructional leadership, managing school operations, vision building and fostering effective relationships for a flourishing school culture. You will curate a personal leadership portfolio that showcases your ongoing grown as a leader.

Winter 2021

January 16 - April 17, 2021
Blended Online Classes online- January 16-April 17, 2021 (This last class is online)
 

Spring 2021

May 24 - June 26, 2021
Online classes - Monday, May 24 - June 26, 2021

Accomodations

Residence rooms are available for students needing accommodation while on campus for spring and summer courses. 

Nightly rental rates are $60/single occupancy and $90/double occupancy, and include bedding, towels, parking and wifi. 

Rooms are in our Residence halls, and are grouped into suites (bathroom may be shared with 1-2 other persons, depending on occupancy levels). 

To book a room, please contact specialevents@ambrose.edu with your arrival and departure dates.

 

Get more information here Register Today

Staff and Faculty

Name Position Location Email Phone
sherry martens ambrose dean of education Sherry Martens, PhD, MA, BEd Associate Dean of Education
Assistant Professor of Education
RE 134 sherry.martens@ambrose.edu -
Professor of Practical Theology, Arch Wong Arch Wong, PhD, DMin, STM, MDiv, BA (Honours) Professor of Practical Theology
Cross-Appointment, School of Education
Associate Director, Flourishing Congregations Institute
L2081 awong@ambrose.edu -
Kathy Crawford Education Field Experience Coordinator and Lecturer Kathryn Crawford, EdD (Cand.), MEd, BEd Assistant Professor in Education RE 148 kcrawford@ambrose.edu -
Josh Hill, PhD, MEd, BEd, BA Assistant Professor in Education RE136 josh.hill@ambrose.edu -
Christy Thomas, EdD, MEd, BEd Assistant Professor in Education RE148 christy.thomas@ambrose.edu -
Craig Harding Sessional Instructor Ambrose Education Craig Harding, PhD Sessional - Education - jcharding@shaw.ca -
Crystal Pelletier, BEd, MEd Director of Field RE127 crystal.pelletier@ambrose.edu -
John Picard Ambrose Education Sessional Faculty John Picard, BA, MEd Sessional - Education - picard.consult@gmail.com -
Brian Boese, EdD, MEd, BEd, BPE Sessional - Education - brian.boese@ambrose.edu -
Tammy Dikeman, MALA, BEd Sessional - Education - tammy.dikeman@ambrose.edu -
Mary-Lynn Wardle, MA, BEd, BA Sessional - Education - mary-lynn.wardle@ambrose.edu -
Allison Robb-Hagg Sessional - Education - allison.robb-hagg@ambrose.edu -
Nadia Verna, MA, BEd Sessional - Education - nadia.verna@ambrose.edu -