Biology

Overview

In the Ambrose Biology degree program, you'll study living organisms as you collect and analyze data and think critically about research problems. In the lab, learn experimental techniques and design ways to test your hypotheses. Discover how to form values and convictions based upon sound reasoning and clear methodology. Focus on: cellular and molecular biology, ecology, or health sciences.

So here's the deal:

Take five courses per semester for four years, and you'll complete your Biology degree
[courses are worth 3 credits and 3 x 5 x 2 x 4 = 120 credits].

Minors

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Ecology
  • General Science
  • Kinesiology

Program Streams

  • Cellular & Molecular Biology
  • Ecology
  • Health Sciences

Your Future

This is your career

Your degree is the foundation for master's study leading to professional careers in research, lab work, teaching, medicine, dentistry, chiropractic, pharmacology, optometry and veterinary medicine.

This is where you can go

Here's a sampling of the jobs our alumni have landed with this degree or entered through further studies:

  • Scientific Researcher
  • Lab Technician
  • Teacher
  • Doctor

70%

increase in salary over 10 years

Beyond the Classroom

Dredge for marine life, examine tide pools and study intertidal zones on Vancouver Island. We also conduct ecological study trips to places like Costa Rica and the Galapagos Islands.

Staff and Faculty

Name Position Location Email Phone
matthew morris biology lecturer Matthew Morris, PhD, MSc, BRE, BSc Assistant Professor of Biology
Co-chair, Biology
A2158 Matthew.Morris@ambrose.edu -
Christopher Wang Assistant Professor of Biology Christopher Wang, PhD, MSc, BSc Assistant Professor of Biology
Co-chair, Biology
L2113 Chris.Wang@ambrose.edu -
Ted (Edward) Pike, PhD Lab Coordinator
Sessional - biology
A2156 Ted.Pike@ambrose.edu -
Liza Abraham, PhD, MSc, BSc Associate Professor A2160 labraham@ambrose.edu -
John Wiest, MSc, BSc, BMus Lecturer, Mathematics - jwiest@ambrose.edu -
Michele Nawata, PhD, MSc, BSc Assistant Professor, Biology - michele.nawata@ambrose.edu -
Megan Hallam, PhD, MSc Lecturer, Biology L2107 mhallam@ambrose.edu -
Stephen Jeans - - stephen.jeans@ambrose.edu -