Music

Overview

Build a firm foundation in music theory while studying a variety of musical styles -- from classical to jazz -- in the Ambrose Music Program. Enjoy frequent opportunities to perform and develop a professional network as part of a close community of musicians who are learning from accomplished teachers and performers.

Learn more about the Ambrose Arts Mentorship award

So here's the deal:

Take five courses per semester for four years, and you'll complete your Music degree
[courses are worth 3 credits and 3 x 5 x 2 x 4 = 120 credits].

This degree is available as a BMus [4 years], BA [4 years], or BA Concentration [3 years].

Visit the Arts Department 

Music Ensembles

Music Events

 

Music Handbook 2020-2021

Your Future

This is your career

Prepare for a career of note in music performance, education, therapy or ministry.

This is where you can go

Here's a sampling of the jobs our alumni have landed with this degree or entered through further studies:

  • Performance musician
  • Orchestra director
  • Private lesson instructor
  • Music therapist
  • Music teacher

18

average class size

Beyond the Classroom

Become a confident performer by engaging in masterclasses, recitals, and concerts.

Staff and Faculty

Name Position Location Email Phone
Edwin Gnandt Associate Professor of Music Edwin Gnandt, MMus Associate Professor of Music G2187 egnandt@ambrose.edu -
Alyssa Michaud Music Lecturer at Ambrose Alyssa Michaud, PhD Lecturer, Music G2202 AMichaud@ambrose.edu -
Barrett Hileman, MFA Associate Professor of Theatre LL108 bhileman@ambrose.edu -
Mark Bartel , DMA Associate Professor of Music - mark.bartel@ambrose.edu -
Pat Belliveau Jazz Saxophone Pat Belliveau, BMus Sessional Faculty - Saxophone, Improvisation and Jazz Ensemble Director - pat.belliveau@ambrose.edu -
Arnold Choi Sessional Faculty at Ambrose University Arnold Choi, DMA, MMus, BMus Sessional Faculty - Cello, String Ensemble - arnold.choi@ambrose.edu -
Rachel Goldenberg Sessional Faculty Voice Rachel B. Goldenberg, DMA, RMT Sessional Faculty - Voice - rgoldenberg@ambrose.edu -
Jason Erhardt, MMus Sessional Faculty - Orchestra - jason.erhardt@ambrose.edu -
Michelle Gregoire Sessional Faculty Jazz Piano Michelle Gregoire, MMus Sessional Faculty - Jazz Piano - mgregoire@ambrose.edu -
Sessional Faculty Flute Christine Kim, DMA Sessional Faculty - Flute - ckim@ambrose.edu -
Sessional Faculty Jazz Percussion Tyler Hornby, MMus, BMus Sessional Faculty - Jazz Drum Set, Jazz Combo, Jazz History - tyler.hornby@ambrose.edu -
Neil McVey Sessional Faculty - Jazz Guitar - neil.mcvey@ambrose.edu -
Michalis Andronikou, PhD, PhD (ABD), MMus, BMus Sessional Faculty - Theory and Composition - michalis.andronikou@ambrose.edu -
Karri Quan, BMus Sessional Faculty - Violin - karri.quan@ambrose.edu -
Murray Visscher, MMus Session Faculty - Guitar - murray.visscher@ambrose.edu -
Andre Wickenheiser, MMus Session Faculty - Trumpet - andre.wickenheiser@ambrose.edu -
Heather Heron-Mykyte, MMus Session Faculty - Viola - heather.heron-mykyte@ambrose.edu -
Rod Squance Sessional Faculty Percussion World Music Rod Squance, DMA Session Faculty - Percussion - rod.squance@ambrose.edu -
Stefano Valdo, MMus Sessional Faculty - Jazz
Sessional Faculty - Bass
- stefano.valdo@ambrose.edu -
David Reid, MMus Sessional Faculty - Trombone - david.reid@ambrose.edu -
Krzysztof Jablonski, DMus Sessional Instructor – piano, Classical Music Coordinator - Krzyzstof.jablonski@ambrose.edu -