Music

Overview

Ambrose University Undergraduate Viewbook
Build a firm foundation in music theory while studying a variety of musical styles -- from classical to jazz -- in the Ambrose Music Program. Enjoy frequent opportunities to perform and develop a professional network as part of a close community of musicians who are learning from accomplished teachers and performers.

So here's the deal:

Take five courses per semester for four years, and you'll complete your Music degree
[courses are worth 3 credits and 3 x 5 x 2 x 4 = 120 credits].

This degree is available as a BMus [4 years], BA [4 years], or BA Concentration [3 years].

Visit the Arts Department

Music Ensembles

Music Events

 

Your Future

This is your career

Prepare for a career of note in music performance, education, therapy or ministry.

This is where you can go

Here's a sampling of the jobs our alumni have landed with this degree or entered through further studies:

  • Performance musician
  • Orchestra director
  • Private lesson instructor
  • Music therapist
  • Music teacher

18

average class size

Beyond the Classroom

Become a confident performer by engaging in masterclasses, recitals, and concerts.

Staff and Faculty

Name Position Location Email Phone
Edwin Gnandt Associate Professor of Music Edwin Gnandt, MMus, BMus Associate Professor of Music G2187 egnandt@ambrose.edu -
Alyssa Michaud Music Lecturer at Ambrose Alyssa Michaud, PhD, MA, BA, AA Lecturer, Music G2202 AMichaud@ambrose.edu -
Barrett_H Barrett Hileman, MFA Chair, Arts
Director of Theatre
Lecturer, Theatre
Associate Professor
LL108 bhileman@ambrose.edu -
Mark Bartel , DMA, MMus, MSMus, BMus Associate Professor of Music - mark.bartel@ambrose.edu -
Pat Belliveau Jazz Saxophone Pat Belliveau, BMus Sessional Faculty - Saxophone, Improvisation and Jazz Ensemble Director - pat.belliveau@ambrose.edu -
Joan Barrett, MMus, BMus Sessional Instructor - Violin and String Ensemble - -
Arnold Choi Sessional Faculty at Ambrose University Arnold Choi, DMA, MMus, BMus Sessional Faculty - Cello, String Ensemble - -
Rachel Goldenberg Sessional Faculty Voice Rachel B. Goldenberg, DMA, RMT Sessional Faculty - Voice - rgoldenberg@ambrose.edu -
Jason Erhardt, MMus Sessional Faculty - Orchestra - jason.erhardt@ambrose.edu -
Ambrose Sessional Faculty - Viola Heather Heron-Mykyte, MMus, BMus Sessional Faculty - Viola - heather.heron-mykyte@ambrose.edu -
Michelle Gregoire Sessional Faculty Jazz Piano Michelle Gregoire, MMus Sessional Faculty - Jazz Piano - mgregoire@ambrose.edu -
Sessional Faculty Flute Christine Kim, DMA Sessional Faculty - Flute - ckim@ambrose.edu -
Sessional Faculty Jazz Percussion Tyler Hornby, MMus, BMus Sessional Faculty - Jazz Drum Set, Jazz Combo, Jazz History - tyler.hornby@ambrose.edu -
Neil McVey Sessional Faculty - Jazz Guitar - neil.mcvey@ambrose.edu -
Rod T. Squance, DMA Sessional Faculty - Percussion, World Music - rod.squance@ambrose.edu -
Leila Linton, MMus, BMus Collaborative Artist - -
Murray Visscher, MMus Sessional Faculty - Classical Guitar - mvisscher@ambrose.edu -
sessional faculty jazz bass stephano valdo Stefano Valdo, MMus Sessional Faculty - Standup bass or bass guitar, Jazz - svaldo@ambrose.edu -
Andre Wickenheiser Sessional Faculty Trumpet Andre Wickenheiser, MMus Sessional Faculty - Trumpet - awickenheiser@ambrose.edu -
Michalis Andronikou, PhD, PhD (ABD), MMus, BMus Sessional Instructor - Theory and Composition - -
Karri Quan, BMus Sessional Faculty - Violin - karri.quan@ambrose.edu -