Music

Overview

Build a firm foundation in music theory while studying a variety of musical styles -- from classical to jazz -- in the Ambrose Music Program. Enjoy frequent opportunities to perform and develop a professional network as part of a close community of musicians who are learning from accomplished teachers and performers.

Learn more about the Ambrose Arts Mentorship award

So here's the deal:

Take five courses per semester for four years, and you'll complete your Music degree
[courses are worth 3 credits and 3 x 5 x 2 x 4 = 120 credits].

This degree is available as a BMus [4 years], BA [4 years], or BA Concentration [3 years].

Visit the Arts Department 

Music Ensembles

Music Events

 

Music Handbook 2020-2021

Your Future

This is your career

Prepare for a career of note in music performance, education, therapy or ministry.

This is where you can go

Here's a sampling of the jobs our alumni have landed with this degree or entered through further studies:

  • Performance musician
  • Orchestra director
  • Private lesson instructor
  • Music therapist
  • Music teacher

18

average class size

Beyond the Classroom

Become a confident performer by engaging in masterclasses, recitals, and concerts.

Staff and Faculty

Name Position Location Email Phone
Mark Bartel , DMA Associate Professor of Music G2183 mark.bartel@ambrose.edu -
Alyssa Michaud Music Lecturer at Ambrose Alyssa Michaud, PhD Assistant Professor of Music G2185 AMichaud@ambrose.edu -
Barrett Hileman, MFA Chair, Ambrose Arts
Associate Professor of Theatre
LL108 bhileman@ambrose.edu -
Krzysztof Jablonski, DMus Sessional Instructor – piano, Classical Music Coordinator - krzysztof.jablonski@ambrose.edu -
Sessional Faculty Jazz Percussion Tyler Hornby, MMus, BMus Sessional Faculty - Jazz Drum Set, Jazz Combo, Jazz History, Jazz Music Coordinator - tyler.hornby@ambrose.edu -
Michalis Andronikou, PhD, PhD (ABD), MMus, BMus Sessional Faculty - Theory and Composition - michalis.andronikou@ambrose.edu -
Pat Belliveau Jazz Saxophone Pat Belliveau, BMus Sessional Faculty - Saxophone, Improvisation and Jazz Ensemble Director - pat.belliveau@ambrose.edu -
Arnold Choi Sessional Faculty at Ambrose University Arnold Choi, DMA, MMus, BMus Sessional Faculty - Cello, String Ensemble - arnold.choi@ambrose.edu -
Jason Erhardt, MMus Sessional Faculty - Orchestra - jason.erhardt@ambrose.edu -
Michelle Gregoire Sessional Faculty Jazz Piano Michelle Gregoire, MMus Sessional Faculty - Jazz Piano - mgregoire@ambrose.edu -
Heather Heron-Mykyte, MMus Session Faculty - Viola - heather.heron-mykyte@ambrose.edu -
Sessional Faculty Flute Christine Kim, DMA Sessional Faculty - Flute - ckim@ambrose.edu -
Neil McVey Sessional Faculty - Jazz Guitar - neil.mcvey@ambrose.edu -
Karri Quan, BMus Sessional Faculty - Violin - karri.quan@ambrose.edu -
David Reid, MMus Sessional Faculty - Trombone - david.reid@ambrose.edu -
Rod Squance Sessional Faculty Percussion World Music Rod Squance, DMA Session Faculty - Percussion - rod.squance@ambrose.edu -
Stefano Valdo, MMus Sessional Faculty - Jazz
Sessional Faculty - Bass
- stefano.valdo@ambrose.edu -
Murray Visscher, MMus Sessional Faculty - murray.visscher@ambrose.edu -
Andre Wickenheiser, MMus Sessional Faculty - andre.wickenheiser@ambrose.edu -
Tara Laberge, DMA Sessional Faculty - voice - tara.laberge@ambrose.edu -